Outlook on Social Media after this course

Social Media Outlook

 

My outlook on social media has changed in a positive way throughout the time of this course. For one, I think focusing on the business side of social media is a huge stepping stone. Being an advertising major It is very important for me to see what social media outlets are available to utilize for success in spreading the word about a company.  This is the main reason why I chose this MC upper level electives other than the others options available, and i’m glad I did.

I’ve also come to terms with the fact that the web is huge and there are so many great social media sites available that are just waiting to be discovered. For example, I had no idea what delicious or any site like that was before I got into this class. It really shows that even though I am a millennial and our generation tends to be obsessed with various social media platforms, there is still so much that we don’t know about. It definitely gave me a little push to start digging into these unfamiliar social media sites and see what they can bring to the table.

Even though I may have felt like a bit of an outcast in the class because I didn’t share the same expertise as the majority of the great aspiring librarians but instead as an advertising major, I found the glass to be very helpful and an awesome learning experience. I’ll take what I’ve learned with me and keep diving into all the opportunities to learn about different kinds of social media platforms!

Leave a Reply

